The Starch Solution

I have tried many diets in the past that have never worked for me. The only time I had any minor success was when I was restricting my calories to around 16-1700 each day. Every time I would stop calorie restricting and eat normally again I  would just gain it all back.

After my last post I received a bunch of comments and emails from people offering me advice so I thought I would show an example of what I am eating with a recipe from Dr. McDougall’s book.

Dr. McDougall is a serious inspiration for me. I trust what he says and I love watching his webinars every week. If I could afford to go to his intensives in Santa Rosa, CA I would be there in a heartbeat.  So instead I just bought his latest book: “The Starch Solution.”

The front of his book says, “Eat the foods you love, regain your health and lose the weight for good!” sounds good to me!

One of the best things about the book is that it gives great detail as to why a plant-based diet is the right diet and cites many scientific research studies with proven results. I think anybody could read it wether they are plant-based already or not and even if they aren’t looking to lose weight.

I haven’t completely finished the book yet. I still have 1 chapter left but I have learned a lot from what I have read so far. I have also tried a few recipes from the book and I thought I would share my favorite one in this post!

The first recipe that I tried from the back of The Starch Solution book was Tex-Mex Potatoes. They were a huge hit among my husband and kids as well and we made them part of our dinner rotation. This recipe is basically like nachos with baked potato wedges instead of fatty chips.

 

Screen Shot 2016-05-23 at 9.27.07 AM

This recipe takes about 40 minutes to an hour to prep and cook and it perfectly served my family of 5.

Ingredients:

6 large potatoes cut into wedges

2 cans of pinto beans, drained and rinsed well

1 cup of favorite salsa

1 can of chopped green chiles

1 small onion, chopped

1-2 cloves of garlic, crushed or minced

1/2 teaspoon chili powder

1/2 teaspoon ground cumin

1/4 cup  chopped cilantro

1 tomato, chopped

1/4 cup corn kernels

2 green onions, chopped

 

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Bake potato wedges until lightly browned, about 40 minutes.

While the potatoes cook, in a pan, stir together the beans, salsa, chiles, onion, garlic, chili powder, cumin and half of the cilantro. Cook on low heat until heated through, about 15 minutes.

Stir together the tomato, corn, green onion and remaining cilantro in a bowl.

To serve, arrange the wedges on a plate and top with warm bean mixture and the tomato mixture on top!

 

I made a quick nutritional yeast queso sauce to top it all off. I just made the sauce up on a whim so I will do my best to explain how I make it.

Nooch Sauce recipe:

1 cup of white flour

1 cup of nutritional yeast

1 tablespoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon onion powder

1 teaspoon of salt

pinch of black pepper

water

1/2-3/4 cup salsa

 

Place all dry ingredients into a sauce pan and whisk until blended together evenly. Slowly add water while whisking until mixture is the consistency of pancake batter. Heat sauce on medium heat whisking often until thickened like a cheese sauce. Removed from the burner and stir in salsa. Start with 1/2 cup of salsa and taste, add more if needed. Then just pour this cheezy goodness on top of your wedges!

 

I have tried quite a few recipes from The Starch Solution now but this one is my favorite. They even reheated quite nicely the next day for my daughter’s school lunch when I baked them in the oven to reheat them.

You can see more of the meals that I eat and pictures of the recipes I have tried from McDougall’s book in my Instagram!

Leave a Reply

